Best way to incorporate a database

Hello, I am new to Sparkle and loving it! Very intuitive and easy to use. I have users come to purchase a digital product from our website and I figured out how to have them automatically download the file. What we need is to connect to a database where we have users fill out their information. Is there any good way to do this in Sparkle? Is it best to use MySQL or a Numbers sheet? Any insight is appreciated.

It is possible to add database features into sparkle website. However, Sparkle itself is not a data-driven website builder. What you need to do is get an external PHP script that does the job you want to do. This will be uploaded directly to your server where you will also set up the mySQL database to hold the data. The script publisher will tell you how to do this. Once installed, you incorporate elements of the script into your Sparkle web pages via the embed widget. Most scripts will come with embed code that you paste into your webpage where you want the content/sign-up form to appear. When your site is published, you will see the contact or form in your web page. Take a look at PHPjabbers.com to find a suitable script for your needs. There are, of course, many other sites where you can obtain scripts from - do a search on Google - you’ll find plenty.

@Settide, if you have them purchasing already doesn’t your chosen e-commerce platform allow to have them fill in their needed details?

If you are looking to integrate a CRM into Sparkle (with the Embed widget like @francbrowne mentions) I can recommend Dubsado (http://dubsado.com), but maybe you don’t need all that horsepower.

Just another possible take on it! :slight_smile:

Thank you for your response. Do you simply put the PHP script/file directly on the server? Or is there a specific location? Again, I’m very new to this.