I like to store my Sparkle files in iCloud Drive.
Sometimes, when I open these files through the Sparkle menu-bar or recently opened files the file will claim its read only, show “locked” on the top of the window, and then when I close…the file is DELETED. The file cannot be edited or saved. Only duplicated.
Yes, this means that if someone does not have a backup…Sparkle files will delete themselves without much warning.
I assume this must have something to do with iCloud Drive handling? I have not seen it occur when I open an iCloud Drive file through finder by double clicking. It seems to happen to me when I open files through Sparkle. That being said, it’s not a problem that consistently happens.
Maybe that is more dangerous…for files to inconsistently disappear from your system. Not in the trash…disappear. Luckily I have Time Machine and I’ve used that multiple times to recover my files.
This needs to be looked into immediately before someone loses their website without having a backup.
My warning to people is to duplicate files if you see the “locked” bug.
I am on the latest Big Sur and Sparkle update.