How do I group pages under another?

I want to create a photography website. I’d like to have an index page of Mammals, birds, etc. but I don’t want them all visible in the left pane. For example, I have a master page called Mammals with a list of clickable links like Black Bear, Grizzly Bear and so on. When selected, the user will go to the gallery on the “Black Bear” page and so on. However, I will have hundreds of pages for different animal, bird and plant species. Is there a way create a folder under the “Mammals” page to hold all the different mammal photo galleries? Otherwise, the left hand page column will be littered with hundreds of pages and make it difficult to work with.
Thank you for your time
Scott

Hello and WELCOME.

What you are looking for are sections. Go to Sparkle’s documentation and then to “Managing Pages”.

In the user interface, on the left, you can then collapse a section that contains, say, 10 pages, so that only its name is visible, but not the 10 pages.

Mr. F.

Perfect, exactly what I’d like to do, Thank you!!

The left-hand page column is the weakest part of the UI. It feels odd and the expand/collapse element is odd to use. (My least favorite part of the app.)

For a 1-to-8-page site, it seems like a good solution, but more than that… you will be struggling with the UI. Keynote UI might be a good inspiration, or allow users to switch to a list view (not thumbnail).

If you’re planning to manage 100’s of pages, that’s appropriate for a template-driven platform with a CMS backend. Bloc, the app, might be a friendly way to create an original Wordpress template. Maybe Squarespace? Hard to imagine that Sparkle is the right platform.

You can in fact switch to list view (there’s a show thumbnails option under the view menu).

100s of pages that are all different layout are probably a challenge for any platform. Sparkle is still growing and we are definitely eyeing features that help with larger sites.

4 Likes