How to price my services for a potential client?

I’m a tech savvy person. I can do a little bit of everything.

There’s a little business in town that is looking to keep a website going. Their current one is, sorry, pretty terrible.

Word of mouth came to me and I’d like to introduce myself and work on it with Sparkle and an e-commerce platform. But what do I fairly charge for these services in the United States?

1. Design mockups and introduction.
  2. Final design and development.
  3. Upkeep and management.

There is no magic number , all depends on you business, competition in your areas, your expenses and so on.
Have a look in the internet what other companies or freelancer charge their clients
I figure it out that I cannot quote by hours, it would make it too expensive, I quote by project and additional services I might offer a hourly rate.
I did in the beginning a big discount because I wanted to have a portfolio, but don’t go too cheap in.
I hope that helps

really depends on what you’re willing to sell them - it’s just technical problem solving?

A website and an e-commerce must have an strategy behind it, cause if not, you won’t solve anything.

It’s a good opportunity to aggregate more, and even learn more for yourself. I’d change a few of your steps:

1. Discovery session - what is the purpose of their e-commerce: is their actual strategy working? how can they improve their other strategies with the platform of choosing. Whats their actual platform (WooCommerce, Ecwid, Shopify, etc) ? What are their categories and where are they planning to expand (social media integration, marketplaces, etc)

2. Prototype - here you’ll start assembling as a mockup for what you’ve talked with them at the previous step. A lot of collaboration here.