Multiple webmasters for same website

I would like to maintain a Sparkle website together with someone in a different location. What is recommended to do? Share the Sparkle file in a common place, e.g. webhost? Then also using a procedure with website version management will make it work? Anyone with similar experience? Thanks, Hans

1 Like

I’m not an expert. But I think- if you’re careful you can use Dropbox to sync the core Sparkle files.

There is a risk of overwriting if both people are editing it. But depending on the nature of things, this may not be an issue. This is useful if you’re occasionally working on it.

Another option, if it’s only content or a blog that needs to be shared, is to use a CMS like WordPress to allow blogs and content to be editable. You would then need to convert to a WordPress site or template.

There are tons of CMSes out there:

@Moevi.nl, Having done this a few times I can recommend the following…

• upload your completed Sparkle file to a sharable iCloud folder (or Dropbox, etc…) giving your client access to it. I would recommend a copy not the original original just in case so you have a backup
  • They of course have to have the Sparkle app on their end, and also be aware that if you are using features in the Pro Sparkle they might not be available in the basic Sparkle app. I haven’t come across this issue yet so it might be best to ask @duncan for clarification
  • They just have to go into the shared folder and right click open with Sparkle giving them access to your completed project file.
  • When they have completed their updates they just save back to the shared folder overwriting what was there to begin with
  • All you do is take a copy and date it for reference, or open the file with Sparkle and write over your copy to update your Sparkle project file on your end with the latest additions made by your client