Search engines have lost me :-o

My previous ugly old site was put together with a free open source editor.
For ages, I was nearly always on first page when searching for artists like me.
But I noticed recently that with my slick shiny Sparkle site, I seem to have vanished from Google, and only the pay for adword option brings my site up on Google.
I’m sure I’ve overlooked something (or loads of things :pensive: )
Any help or guides would be most welcome ! Thanks

Alan

Maybe this page help to you
https://sparkleapp.com/docs/setup.html

2 Likes

Many thanks ! I missed this when looking for answers.
Will get to work on the site again ASAP !

Hi Alan, it could be lots of little things that you may be missing, and they all add up!

I’m no expert at all on SEO, but the obvious things I can think of straight away is:

• H1 tag - Has each page got a relevant H1 tag and does the content relate to this tag.
  • Page Description - Have you written a good description for each page.
  • Google webmaster tools - I use this. I can let google know that I want my site to be re-indexed among many other things such as verification of website / domain etc.
  • Content - Well written content is vital, google loves content that is relevant.
  • Mobile version of the site is important nowadays unfortunately.
  • Has your site got a https certificate?

Hope some of these suggestions help.
Best, Scott

3 Likes

Many thanks Scott.

If you’re no expert… uhh, what does that make me ? lol ! I don’t even know what the H1 tag is :cry:
I’ve spent some time this afternoon trying to sort out Google webmaster tools and I think I’ve got it to re-index my main page (that’s the one that counts for me)

When you say “mobile version”, isn’t that created automatically by Sparkle ? I’ve sized everything accordingly with the different options (PC, pad, mobile landscape + portrait)

Alan

Hi Alan.