Understanding page/device width

I’m new to Sparkle–had been using Freeway Pro then Muse until they more or less closed shop. Anyway, imported a portfolio site and have been updating it for Sparkle. Wasn’t aware as to how Sparkle treats responsive design and so my page witdh is only 960 pixels. My original site, created in Muse (jeffreysterndesign.com) was fluid to browser width and would adjust to different device sizes (except phone size). In any case, when I previewed the Sparkle site everything was kind of crammed into the middle 960 width. I have since gone back and let all my backgrounds, etc. go to full width but my page elements are still limited to the 960 width. I have since seen the devices menu item. If I choose wide desktop and then custom layout, I see that I can get the page size wider, but it automatically scales my design and type to a larger size causing type to wrap or be hidden, but my menu bar is still more or less stuck in the middle. Is there not a way to say move the fish in my nav bar further to the left and menu items more to the right as they are in the link I provided? Or should I have just started off with the 1200 px size and just recreated my site that way?

Sparkle’s layout engine is multiple fixed width devices, which makes layout more predictable. You do need to customize for multiple devices, but that’s generally just one plus the mobile adaptation (960 or 1200, and 320).

Yes there’s automatic scaling, but I’m not sure what you mean about the wrap/hidden issue.

Currently “content elements” (so anything that’s not full width) stays within the canvas margins that are the width of the current device.