Experience of newbie, workarounds, suggestions

I’m new to Sparkle and imported my website designed with webacapella into Sparkle. Webacappella is based on bootstrap but doesn’t offer enough layout-wise. I would like to share my experience to the Sparkle community in the following text as a newcomer and switcher.

As a power user of iWork, I immediately felt at home in Sparkle: big compliments to the developers! Real bootstrap framework is not so important for me, as you have to design two different layouts there too.

My site consists of 40, quite text-heavy pages, eight of which are bilingual.

My big disappointment with Sparkle was that the horizontal and vertical menus don’t show an active state. I feel this is an existential shortcoming of the app, since millions of websites can display active status and billions of users are used to it! And to be honest: If I were a professional web designer, this shortcoming would be a reason for me to stay away from Sparkle.

So I tried to compensate this shortcoming with workarounds. First I tried to give each of the 8 menu items a color background, for each page separately. And since these pages are bilingual, there are 16 boxes with different sizes for the menu items, see [https://herbert-gietzen.de]. Unfortunately I found out afterwards that this does not work for the tablet 768 px: The boxes were shifted. So I personalized this device layout and adjusted the boxes. But this was only possible if I orientated myself on the preview: In the editor the boxes are still shifted by several pixels once they are placed correctly in the preview. Is this a bug? (I have this version saved as backup and could send it to the developers).