Help for Those Doing Their Own Videos

I realize that many here who are doing their own sites are also doing their own videos. And since that’s something I’m an industry expert on I figured I’d share some valuable info for those not well versed in video production. Specifically audio for film/video, and getting a good “mix”.

Traditional thinking is that in order to get an accurate reproduction of the audio space you need to either have at least 3-4 different types of audio monitors so that you can replicate the various forms of devices people would be hearing your video on (Hollywood production studios often spend over $250K just on their audio setups alone) or, at least have a very good “reference monitor”. Those are called “near-field monitors”, designed for accurate stereo imaging and reproduction at low-to-medium volume levels and, with the editor close-in, not at a distance like would be with a typical home-stereo loudspeaker.

Both of those methods work fantastically; I have 2 nearfields that are my weapons of choice, a pair of Kali Audio LP-6’s and, Focal Alpha EVO 50’s. But, for someone on a budget that’s not really an option, so they’re left using the built-in speakers on their iMac (or similar machine) or laptop. Horrible sound reproduction, like listening to audio from a walkie-talkie radio - or worse. So here’s two options to give you a great listening space without breaking the bank.

One is to use high-quality home-stereo equipment for the task. You can easily find very good, class-A type stuff for pennies on the dollar on Craigslist these days.