How to tile a box image

I’m back again with another newbie question. I begin by testifying that I have done my homework by searching through the documentation as well as the fora here for answers, but I suspect that I’m not using the right search terms to find what I need (I used ‘tiling’ and got lots of hits for ‘styling’, ‘billing’, ‘talking’, ‘sizing’, etc).

First, I’d like to express my admiration for the abstraction used in Sparkle. The most difficult problem in software design is figuring out how best to abstract the problem so as to make something that is understandable, usable in practice, and computable. I’m just beginning to learn the Sparkle abstractions, but they strike me as higher-level abstractions than what I have seen with other website editors. But I’m quite the curmudgeon; be assured that someday I’ll be back with bitching and moaning.

Now to my actual question: my website has a tiled background. The base image is 1240h x 78v, and is automatically tiled (repeated vertically) to fill the page. But alas, Sparkle, when importing this, decided to skip the tiling and simply expand that image to fill the box. So my question is fairly simple: how do I tell Sparkle not to stretch the image, but to tile it?

1 Like

Hi,
i hope this helps: https://sparkleapp.com/docs/images.html

The “Fit” button ensures the entire image is visible, but will produce a horizontal or vertical letterboxing. “Fill” ensures the image covers the entire frame, but the image will be clipped at the frame edges.

Rats! That didn’t help. I carefully read the “Images” page in the documentation. I’m impressed that Sparkle can remove backgrounds, but nothing there solves my problem. You see, I apply this background to all the pages on my website. Some of those pages are short vertically and some are long vertically. Therefore, I cannot use a single image for the background; it has to be tiled.

Here’s the CSS code that tiles the image on the Sandvox version of the website: