Photo grids like InDesign

Something for the future. Being a photographer and filmmaker, I often want to show a client all their images online (and possibly sell to them). InDesign can create a grid of photo boxes like this:

This would be so great to have in Sparkle one day. Seeing as we can now integrate a store front onto the site, I would be able to completely do away with my online selling facility which is upwards of £500 per year. Just a thought!

We do have grid functionality on our near term list, but that’s interesting nonetheless. InDesign is a monster package and I think what it’s doing there might be overly/needlessly complex but we’ll see what the final UI ends up like in Sparkle (not for v4!).

Thanks Duncan. Nice to know you’re thinking about this, even though it’s not for v.4. Keep well!

Just another voice hoping that grid functionality will be available in the near future. I like to post a grid of photos from my cruising and it worked well in Muse. Please keep this on the wishlist…

Not sure I understand the request. Is it not possible now to layout a grid of photos within Sparkle?

The difference is offering UI in Sparkle to make it simpler/quicker to lay out images in a grid.

I see.

I suppose if there were a script that took a folder full of images and automatically placed them in a grid on a page, where the end result would be a group of image elements just as if one had placed them manually, that would be fine.

The danger, as I see it, is implementing some new stand alone construct that prohibits freely editing the resulting layout manually. Does that make sense? Inflexible superstructures. Like preconfigured grouped elements that can never be broken apart.