Photo handling suggestions

I’m a photographer, so my site uses a lot of photos. My current site was designed using Sandvox, but when it became obvious that Sandvox was becoming an orphan app I started researching a number of other software options. I selected Sparkle because I liked the flexibility, the ease of use and a lot of the features it included.

What I’ve found during my site redesign is that Sparkle does a great job handling a lot of things (user-created text presets and other similar features). But using Sparkle to create a photo-driven site requires a lot of tedious repetition because the user can’t set defaults for how a photo is imported.

For instance, all of the photos on my site have a thin white border. In Sparkle I have to set each variable every time I import a photo (unless I’ve missed a feature somewhere). This ends up taking a ton of time. It would be nice if Sparkle’s team could do a photo version of the font preset model, allowing users to set one-click presets for different parameter combinations — things like border, “on click” actions, etc. That would be excellent!

All of my photos are exported from Adobe Lightroom and have caption and title information embedded in the metadata (the same can be done in just about any high-end photo editing software and most “organized” photographers use these fields). Some other web design packages have the ability to pick up the embedded caption info and automatically use it as a caption for the photo on the site. Right now in Sparkle I have to create a text box, position it and type the caption info for each photo, which is time consuming. It would be perfect if Sparkle could pick up that embedded metadata caption info and have a user preset or setting to turn captions on or off instead of having to create a text block each time.