Setting text styles, colour doesn't stick

I am completely new to Sparkle, though I’m very familiar with the concept of text styles and the variations of implementation in different apps and document types, including word processors, page layout apps, HTML and others.

I am trying Sparkle for creating a new website. I’m using the 14 days evaluation trial before committing myself, and I’ve hit the first hurdle, setting styles.

I create an ‘H1’ style, with font, size, justification, line-height and colour (red), and set the ‘h1’ tag and all seems well. I then modify the ‘Body’ style, setting everything as required, different size, different colour (very dark forest green) with its ‘p’ tag and apply it.

The ‘H1’ headings immediately take on the colour assigned to ‘Body’; I go back and reset the ‘H1’ to the red colour, the ‘Body’ text has now taken on the red of the ‘H1’. All the other parameters stick after they have been applied, it is only the colour which doesn’t stick. Looking at the dropdown, all the styles except ‘subtitle’ and ‘Gallery Label’ have the colour I have last assigned to whichever.

So, is this a limitation of the free 14-day evaluation? If it isn’t, that’s a real dealbreaker for me.

Thanks

No, it’s not a limitation at all. I think its all about not fully understanding how things are working in Sparkle.

You will notice that Sparkle has some pre made styles at the top of the styles panel. If you create some text on the page, add one of these pre-made styles - for example the ‘Title’ Style. Now make some changes to your text, font, size, colour tag etc. When it’s looking how you want it, click on the ‘Apply Changes’ Button in the style panel - it looks like this.

Screenshot

Whenever you apply that style again to another object, it will apply all the changes you added to the style.