Sparkle vs Dreamweaver, code updates, and best way to learn Sparkle visually

Dear Sparkle community,

I am new to Sparkle, and so please bear with me, however I am not new to tech.

Previously in more recent times have used tools like text editors (HTML 1.0 to 3.0), early versions of photoshop, Pagemaker etc (Amiga) Xsite pro (PC) (loved this one but it is no longer in operation as a company), Wordpress, and my brother who is very artistic is quite good at using Adobe Dreamweaver however does suggest the product has become a lot more bloated and corporatised than it used to be.

However as I did my last Wordpress CMS site, I thought how much Wordpress had evolved into a complex system that means the web developer was often having to modify sites to fit in with the Wordpress roadmap, and the complexity that that adds in small business owners being able to update their own sites at times, particularly anything beyond a text update.

So my question is for those who have really pushed Sparkle to its limits - as someone considering using Sparkle for Mac, who wants to do small business websites including email form collection and links to ecommerce, am I best off to invest the time learning Sparkle, or Dreamweaver?

Further just as the editor is visual (as in human interface) does the community have any recommended videos (user videos) on using and making stunning pages within Sparkle?

Finally what is the Sparkle development cycle (ie how many updates does one get and often)?

Thanks in advance

2 Likes

Hi @brookpap! And great questions!

I totally agree with you regarding WordPress and all the other supposedly no-code platforms out there. There are a lot f hoops to jump through to give a client the ability to update their website. For me in the past only 5 odd percent of my clients would use the CMS… The rest would ask me to do it. So there is no incentive for me anymore to chase CMSs!