The possibility of a CMS?

I know Duncan has had many sleepless nights (well I don’t know that for sure!) on this topic but the Sparkle Forum would be a good place to start…

I have a few Sparkle websites out in the wild doing really well but now at least two clients are asking can they take over the editing and the inside of my head goes blank! :frowning: I know Duncan is always talking about the non complicated designer’s way so I want to talk about Sparkle 1.

I know Sparkle is for all, but when a client pays good money and then starts to mess their website all up because they are not that way inclined then they start asking around to see if there are better ways to gain more control over what is theirs.

So I’m thinking (and I have mentioned this in the past) what about a CMS like version of Sparkle 1 which has parts of it locked down and the owner/client can edit their site with our help, instructions, and supporting videos. As a designer I could even help out remotely where I can give them a helping hand through their purchased Sparkle 1.

The other way I have been thinking is a Sparkle 1 like CMS but in the cloud where both a client and myself (if issues cropped up) can access it. And /gulp/ the beauty with this is that we can bring /gulp/ the PC people into our world - don’t throw stones at me! :slight_smile:

Overall what I’m getting at is having a safe and Sparkle-like way for a more eager client getting access to editing their content and one that doesn’t have us pixel perfect designers having a designers’ breakdown!

I also see the win/win benefits here as we on-sell Sparkle 1 licenses onto our clients that want editing capabilities. Anyway looking forward to some good discussions on this one Sparklets! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Good suggestion thanks. Not like it wasn’t on our list :slight_smile:

1 Like

I know, but maybe further discussion here could further help with insight! :slight_smile: