Using Sparkle for My Web Design/Development Business

Running a website design business with Sparkle

A little about my past

I am a designer with very minimal knowledge of HTML and CSS, but I have worked on several web design/development projects for years. I have tried editing HTML templates with Dreamweaver, fidgeting around inside a CSS box with Blocs, trying to tame the infamous dinosaur (WordPress), and paying a monthly fee for each website I create in Wix and Webflow. Though the websites I delivered were good enough, I always felt someday I would find a tool to help me design a website as I quickly move around objects on a Pages document. One fateful day, I stumbled upon Sparkle, and suddenly, my web design/development workflow changed. Now, I deliver 90+% of the web projects using Sparkle.

Challenge into profit

When I switched to Sparkle as my go-to website builder, my biggest challenge was that most clients wanted a website they could edit on their phone or PC without paying an additional app fee. The majority of clients had a WordPress/Wix mindset. To solve this issue, I chose clients who chose custom design beauty over template use and did not have the time to manage their websites; then, I offered a separate monthly website management fee, which was a win-win situation for me.

My design workflow:

Moodboard:

I create a Figma file that includes the company logo, color theme, font usage, and sample website designs on a Moodboard in a Figma frame. I give my customers access to view and comment on the Figma file.

Copywriting:

Usually, most of my clients do not come with their copy prepared, so I conduct an interview to write website copy and then provide it to them for comments. I use AI tools to generate the first draft. Then, I place all the generated website copies on another Figma frame next to my mood board so customers can see and edit it.

Page Designs: