Small .png images generated by Sparkle

No doubt this has been covered somewhere before, but what are the little .png images that Sparkle generates with names such as <android-chrome-196x196-20200723085815.png> and <apple-touch-icon-20200723085815.png>? Are they to do with touch screens and do I need them all on my site?
I am just getting started with Sparkle, and still feeling my way into it.

Thanks,
Ian

Hey @ianrid, welcome! When you set a website icon Sparkle creates the variants for all devices, so that it’s always shown as such. We are improving that to place the many small images in the images folder, but I’d suggest that they are the technical counterpart to what you requested in the Sparkle user interface by setting the website icon, so yes you need them.

By “website icon” do you mean what I know as the Favicon? Currently I haven’t added one. Does it have to be in any particular format, such as jpeg? In my old site, which was made with Quark, it was called favicon.ico and showed up fine.

Oh, that’s unexpected. But yes, favicon is just one flavour, there are many different images used for bookmarks or home screen or touchbar or pinned icon or tile etc. You add an image via the site settings, website icon section.

Thanks for the explanation. In the end I decided to stick with my favicon.ico.

I am now starting to make up my first pages with Sparkle and have found one annoying display problem on this page
http://www.ianridpath.com/books/starchart.html
When zooming in and out on Safari, the text either runs short of the box with pictures near the end, or overlaps the bottom of the frame and is lost. The behaviour changes with each zoom level. (Seems to be OK on Firefox.) Is there any way to avoid this? Any advice most welcome.

I don’t see the issue on Safari. I can zoom in and out quite easily and everything stays in place. Maybe you need to update your browser or maybe it’s something unique to your Safari setting that is causing the problem.